Dunham Massey is an ancient deer park with a Georgian House and formal gardens. It has a long and rich history dating back to the 14th Century and is described as a real plantsman’s garden. The sights and smells change with the seasons and the house provides a glimpse into the past and has a unique social history.
The original moat surrounding the old manor house partly survives and there was possibly a castle here at one time. The moat still powers a fully working Jacobean mill by means of a water wheel. The original Tudor house built in 1616 was replaced by a Georgian House in the 18th Century. The house is elegant and attractive, but not showy.
The park has a number of radiating lines of avenues of trees laid out in the 17th Century. The gardens include terraces, parterres, and two productive gardens and the gardens are French in style. The gardens are now reckoned to be amongst the finest in the North West of England and a must-see attraction for visitors.
Dunham Massey is famous for its collection of Huguenot silver which is periodically on display to the public. There are now 30 rooms of the hall open to the public.